Back-to-School Safety: How to Pass a School Bus Safely

September 22, 2013

Law

According to the Florida Department of Education, more than 21,000 drivers illegally pass school buses every day. Bus drivers may be exposed to unsafe conditions while driving Florida children around due to individuals who violate passing laws.

Every time that a driver chooses to violate the law it makes it more likely that a tragic accident resulting in an injury or death may occur.

Florida Law about Passing a School Bus

The law that discusses passing a school bus is part of Section 316.172. This law states that any driver of a passenger vehicle must stop when he or she is approaching a school bus that has a stop sign displayed and a warning light.

A driver must then wait for the school bus until the stop sign has been entirely removed. A driver cannot pass during this time. If a person violates the law, it is considered a moving violation. If a driver passes on the side of the road where the children are unloading and the stop sign and warning light are active requires a mandatory hearing under Florida Statutes 318.19.

Punishments for Violating the Law

There are various punishments for violating the law, but they often depend on which side of the street the driver passed on and if there have been any previous offenses.

Florida Statutes Section 318.18 provides the following punishments:

Left-Hand Passing a School Bus:

  • First offense – $165

  • Second or subsequent offense within five years – $165; license suspension between 90 days to 6 months

Right-Hand Passing a School Bus:

  • First offense – $265

  • Second or subsequent offense within five years – $265; license suspension between 180 days to one year

Call Our Injury Law Team 24 Hours a Day / 7 Days a Week

If your child has been injured in a school bus accident, a Florida car accident lawyer

may be able to help. Call Abrahamson & Uiterwyk today at (727)-217-5977 for a free initial consultation and case evaluation.

 

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply